Wednesday, January 26, 2011

January 26, 1861

On Saturday, January 26, 1861, Louisiana became the sixth state to leave the Union, following South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama and Georgia.  A state convention voted for secession 114 to 17.

In Savannah, Georgia, state troops seized Fort Jackson and the Oglethorpe Barracks.

No comments: